The team at @tginfo strongly advises all users to secure their accounts with a cloud password. This password will need to be entered each time you log into your account, making it much harder for hackers to break into it. You can set up two-step verification in the “Settings › Privacy › Two-Step Verification” section.
However, users often forget their passwords. If this happens to you, the recovery process depends on whether you have provided an email for password recovery and if you are logged into the account on any of your devices.
If you have a device logged in
If you are logged into the account on any device, you’re in luck: you can reset the cloud password without losing data. Go to “Settings › Privacy and Security › Two-Step Verification” and click the “Forgot Password?” button. Please note: you can not reset password in WebA or WebK apps.
If the app reports that a reset code has been sent to your email, you have a chance to immediately reset your password:
- If you have access to that email, retrieve the email with the code (check the “Spam” folder if it’s not in the “Inbox”), enter this code in the app, and set a new cloud password.
- If you don’t have access to that email box, click the “No access to email?” button and confirm the password reset. This process will take 7 days, during which only the cloud password will be reset, and your account with all chats will remain intact. After 7 days, go back to “Settings › Privacy and Security › Two-Step Verification” and confirm the password reset.
If you did not provide an email address when enabling two-step verification, the app will offer to reset the password after waiting 7 days. In this case, all account data will also be preserved.
No device logged in available
If you don’t have access to the account settings, click the “Forgot Password?” button on the login screen.
- If the app reports that a reset code has been sent to your email and you have access to that email, enter the code from the email into the app, reset the password, and log into your account.
- If the app shows a message “Since you didn’t provide a recovery email when setting up your password, your remaining options are either to remember your password or to reset your account”, it means you did not set up an email for recovery. In this case, your only options are to either remember the cloud password, find a device logged into your account, or completely reset your account. After a reset, there will be no chats or contacts left in the account, and you will lose access to groups and channels where you were an administrator. Also, Telegram will no longer recognize you as the owner of stickers and bots that you created under the old account.